Personal, Social & Health Education at Luston and Shobdon

Subject Lead: Mary Freeman

From the Early Years Foundation Stage onwards, our children discover a love of learning and of school life.

They become active and curious learners, who are happy and deeply involved in their learning. They discover their own voices and begin to learn the skills of considerate and constructive communication to make and grow friendships, explore new ideas and to ask curious questions. Along the way, they will discover their own strengths and learn that if they persist and work with all their hearts, ultimately they will succeed

At Luston and Shobdon we have introduced the Jigsaw scheme of work to deliver our PSHE (Personal, Social, Health Education) curriculum.

What is Jigsaw?

Jigsaw is a comprehensive and completely original Scheme of Work for the whole school from Foundation through to Year 6. It brings together PSHE Education, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development in a comprehensive scheme of learning.

What is a mindful approach?

How would children benefit if they could be aware of their thoughts and feelings as they happen, in the present moment, on purpose with no judgement? This is what mindfulness means. It can be learnt, and techniques to develop it taught. It also needs to be practised.
We believe mindfulness is a vital tool for life, not only does it support the regulation of emotion and build emotional resilience but also enhances focus and concentration; both helping to optimise learning.
Mindful children can more readily choose their responses to situations rather than react while caught up in the thought-flows and emotions.
In Jigsaw PSHCE, mindfulness is developed through the ‘Calm Me’ time in each piece (lesson). This consists of breathing techniques, awareness exercises, visualizations etc, all tried, tested and very enjoyable activities for children and teachers alike.
Observing thoughts and feelings, on purpose, in the present moment with no judgement.

SMSC (Spiritual, Moral, Social, Cultural) development

SMSC (Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural) development opportunities are mapped throughout. Every lesson contributes to at least one of these aspects of children’s development. All of these pieces of learning are brought together to form a cohesive picture, helping children to know and value who they are and understand how they relate to other people the world.
The values taught in this scheme are integral to our schools ethos, whilst encouraging an essential awareness of British Values throughout.

The Jigsaw Charter

Recommended Reads

EYFS - age 4-5 years KS1 - age 5-7 years


Lower KS2 - age 7-9 years Upper KS2 - age 9-11 years